Seasonal Insanity, PG, Josef POV, Champagne Challenge #137

A place for LaughtersMelody's G to PG-13 stories
LaughtersMelody
Freelance freshie

Seasonal Insanity, PG, Josef POV, Champagne Challenge #137

Post by LaughtersMelody »

Title: Seasonal Insanity
Rating: PG
Disclaimer: I do not own Moonlight, nor am I making any money from this, though I'm certainly having fun playing with the characters. No infringement intended.
Warnings: None in this one.
Summary: It happened every year. Mick and Coraline's rocky relationship in 1982, as seen through Josef's eyes. No slash.

A/N: Written for Champagne Challenge #137, March Madness. Story had to include the theme, as well as the words bracket, rebound, court, and cheer. This is my first time writing from Josef's POV, so I hope I did him justice. :blinksmile:

As always, I thank my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ who is the source of all inspiration.

~*~*~*~*~

Seasonal Insanity

It was March again.

To be honest, Josef didn’t really care. He’d been alive - and undead - long enough for March to come around exactly 383 times so far, and if you’d seen one, you’d pretty much seen them all.

What has been will be again, what has been done will be done again; there is nothing new under the sun.

The ancient words rang just as true in 1982 as they had the day they’d been written.

Still, no two years were the exactly the same, and the month had certainly gotten more exciting in 1939, when March Madness, as a sportswriter had recently dubbed it, had first appeared. Josef wasn’t much of a basketball fan, but he never passed up the chance to make money, and betting on the bracket had quickly become a high-stakes game he enjoyed.

St. Patrick’s Day was another bright spot. Irish charm, plus lots of drinking - both from the bar and the freshies on tap - he certainly wasn’t going to complain. Not about that, anyway.

Unfortunately, March had picked up another annual event, one Josef could have done without.