Ashes to Ashes (Challenge #142) -- PG-13

librarian_7
Forever Moonlightaholic

Ashes to Ashes (Challenge #142) -- PG-13

Post by librarian_7 »

Another little Halloween treat…not all ghosts groan, and rattle chains. Sometimes, they live in the past, and in our hearts and minds.

And lest I forget, an extra special shout out to Allegrita for doing some brilliant beta’ing at short notice.

Ashes to Ashes

Okay, so maybe, standing outside the Franklin Hotel last night and watching it burn, I wasn’t entirely honest with Beth about my connection to the place. I mean, I told her about Sunday brunch there with my parents, back in the late ‘20s, but that’s not all. After I came home from the war, and was trying to build up a career as a musician, I worked there as a bartender, making ends meet. Not the best job I ever had, but the tips were good.

And that’s not all. My wedding reception was at the Franklin. The last few hours of human happiness I ever knew were spent at that hotel, dancing with my new bride, drinking with my buddies, and secure in the company of my family. Man, we had a good party that night—I hated to leave, even though I knew I was going off to spend my wedding night with the most beautiful, sexiest woman in the world. I knew it was a watershed moment—that after that night my life would be different. Never mind that Coraline ensured that it was a whole lot more different than I could have imagined.