Sleep (PG-13)

A place for Kelly's G to PG-13 stories
Kelly
Rogue vampire
Location: Lost in a daydream...I think Alex is in here somewhere too.

Sleep (PG-13)

Post by Kelly »

Disclaimer: I own nothing...darn it.

Note: This is just a quick oneshot...wrote it is just under an hour, so it's far from perfect. But it's been so long since I've posted anything, that I decided to post it anyway. I hope you all like it. Also, this is my first attempt at a first-person FF.

Sleep

I run my hands across the slick, metal framework of my freezer. It’s cold, yet inviting as ever. Popping open the lid, I am greeted by a surge of frigid air. If I were still human, I’d have veered from the freezing blast, its sub-zero temperature stinging my face and hands. But I, a vampire, am now drawn to it. It welcomes me, willing me come closer. My fingers fumble with buttons and buckles as I shed my clothing, allowing the garments to fall carelessly to the floor. Hoisting myself up, I swing my legs over the freezer’s edge and settle inside. Lying back, stretched straight inside the lonely confines of my sanctuary, I feel the familiar coolness wash over my body, soothing. However, I leave the lid of the freezer ajar, not yet ready for sleep. Still, I can already feel my senses beginning to dull, as my eyes grow heavy and my limbs, numb.

When I became a vampire, everything changed. Nothing was left untouched, nothing kept sacred—not even sleep—and even after more than fifty years, I still have not stopped trying to fight the cold darkness that tugs at my weary mind. It is this darkness that is the root of my fears. Sleep for the undead is not filled with pleasant dreams. However, nor is it filled with nightmares. It is nothing but a black cloud that envelopes the mind. It is in this moment, when sleep washes over me, that I cease to be undead. Each day, however, I continue to retreat to my freezer, fear in my heart, but acceptance in my mind that this is part of who I have become.