How long does it take to turn?

A deeper discussion of Vampire Mythology
LaughtersMelody
Freelance freshie

How long does it take to turn?

Post by LaughtersMelody »

I'm new enough to the Moonlight fandom that I'm still learning the technical in and outs of the Moonlight universe, and I have a question I was hoping someone could help me with.

Do they ever mention the general amount of time it takes for a person to turn into a vampire?

I have a fan fic idea that would involve a turning, and the length of time it takes is important to the plot. But, I can't seem to find a solid standard in the Moonlight episodes I've seen so far. In "Dr. Feelgood" the Doctor seems to turn fairly quickly. He couldn't have been laying out in the open long, unless of course, his Sire dragged his body off the road somewhere, which is possible. They don't make that very clear.

But, in Mick's flashbacks of his turning, it appeared to be night time when Coraline bit him, but it's clearly morning when Mick wakes up as a vampire, since the sun is shining. That seems to suggest it took an hour or two at the very least, depending upon how close to dawn it was when she turned him.

I'm still in the middle of watching the episodes, so I haven't yet seen the episode where Josef turns Mick back into a vampire, (I've been semi-spoiled by fan fic, lol) but I don't know if that would be the standard to go by, since he was "technically" a vampire already, the traits were just suppressed by the cure.

Any help would be appreciated! :flowers:

Thanks in advance!

-Laughter

My Fanfiction Office.

Jesus is Lord.
Lucy
Ancient

Re: How long does it take to turn?

Post by Lucy »

Moonlight's description of the Vampire draining the new turn, then feeding the Fledgling vampire blood makes it sound quite rapid. If you watch the scene between Josef and Mick (the most sensual 5 minutes of network TV) Mick's return to the undead is within minutes.